West Indies Team Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

ICC T20 World Cup 2022 is all set to start on 16th October in Australia. West Indies is one of the eight teams that have directly qualified for the 1st Round Stage as per ICC rules. They are the former two-time champions of the T20 World Cup. West Indies have been placed in Group B of the 1st Rund stage. West Indies Cricket announced their team squad on 14th September 2022. As per the announcement, Nicholas Poraan will captain West Indies in T20 WC 2022. Here is the rest of the West Indies Team Squad for the ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

WI Team Squad for T20 WC 2022

Two-time T20 World Cup Champions West Indies are buckling up to defend their title in the T20 World Cup 2022.  West Indies is placed in Group B along with Scotland, Ireland, and Zimbabwe. The Caribbean side has picked their top-class cricketers to stay alive in this competition.

The most successful side of the T20 World Cup, West Indies will appear in their 8th consecutive season of ICC T20 World Cup. West Indies won the title of T20 Champions for the 2 time in history back in 2012 and 2016.

During the last few months, West Indies has made several changes in their playing squad. The reason behind massive changes is the continuous poor performances of their senior mates. Now the majority of youngsters are present in their squad.

West Indies Team Squad for ICC T20 World Cup 2022

The selection committee of West Indies has also revealed their playing squad for the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022. The Selection Board has picked up a combination of experienced and young players to strengthen their team squad.

The most experienced T20 specialist Nicholas Pooran will captain West Indies in this event. West Indies has performed really impressively under the captaincy of Pooran. Now, they are hoping to continue their brilliant display of cricket.

West Indies is also known for their best hitters, especially in the T20 format. Therefore, the Caribbean side has enough potential to compete in this event.

The main batting unit of the West Indies revolves around Rovman Powell, Shimron Hetmyer, and Brandon King. All these batsmen are among the best T20 players in the world right now. During T20 World Cup 2022 the performance of these players will play a vital role in the victory of their squad.

West Indies is also capable to produce world-class pace bowlers Like Obed McCoy, Raymon Reifer, and Odean Smith. These bowlers will be the pace attackers for West Indies during the upcoming ICC T20 World Cup 2022.

No Player Batting Bowling style
1 Nicholas Pooran (c, wk) Left Right-arm off-spin
2 Rovman Powell (VC) Right Right-arm fast-medium
3 Yannic Cariah Left Right-arm leg spin
4 Johnson Charles (wk) Right
5 Sheldon Cottrell Right Left-arm fast-medium
6 Shimron Hetmyer Left
7 Jason Holder Right Right-arm fast-medium
8 Akeal Hosein Left Slow left-arm orthodox
9 Alzarri Joseph Right Right-arm fast
10 Brandon King Right
11 Evin Lewis Left Right-arm medium
12 Kyle Mayers Left Right-arm medium
13 Obed McCoy Left Left-arm fast-medium
14 Raymon Reifer Left Left-arm medium-fast
15 Odean Smith Right Right arm fast-medium